Network Neutrality

If the situation came down to the right circumstances, I would probably pay more for internet access. I believe the situation would come down to picking and choosing what luxuries you want in your home. Even if you do not have internet connection in your home, there are plenty of other access points available. You could always connect at a public library or most public restaurants.

The only reason I would keep my access is completely due to convenience. It is not practical for me to drive into town to a public location, especially since I live in a rural area, just to access the internet. If I absolutely had to use the internet the I would use my cell phone data plan to connect.

For me to completely unplug the price would have to be raised so significantly that I would be forced to pick and choose my luxuries. The day I have to choose between my cell phone or internet connection in my home is the day that I will unplug.

5 thoughts on “Network Neutrality

  1. kpete1113

    I feel the same way. I can not imagine completely letting go of the Internet, but I can if they had access packages we, as consumers, could chose what would best suit our lives. We have become so inclined to accessing the Internet so conveniently that if we did started getting charged more I think there would be a lot of unhappy people, but in the end people are most likely going to just pay the higher price.

    Reply
  2. Scott Scholl

    I definitely understand where you are coming from. I might pay more but I’m so used to pay for less. Yet, right now, if I visit my parents in the rural area, I can’t access the internet. My parents do not need internet because they have their cell phones. I enjoy access to the internet, I used it for publication and creative writing networking. But, I am a first hand witness to paying more for less in rural areas. Perhaps the reason that internet access is so fickle is because the residents of the rural area do not one want to stay connected.

    Reply
  3. swopeyy

    I understand your situation. I commute as well but luckily not from far at all. If you were forced to have internet after prices raised because you were already locked into some plan, what luxury would you be willing to give up to make sure that you can maintain that bill? I’m just asking out of fun, no real reason.

    Reply
  4. xman25

    I don’t feel that anybody could ever let go completely of the internet but if they had access packages like kpete1113 said than i could for sure do it. Internet has become a worldwide thing and is a part of peoples everyday life’s. Cutting the internet would not only affect certain lives of people but it would also affect certain business that use the internet in order to work on their job. I think many people would be willing to pay the higher price for internet because of big of a necessity it is.

    Reply
  5. nscha2

    I think you’ll see a lot more people scaling down, thus creating a bit of a backlash for ISPs and these web services, then we get a ruling from the supreme court that ISPs can’t deny access or bandwidth and were right back to where we started… But we all have jet packs

    Reply

Leave a comment